Thursday, January 12, 2017

Dear Reader, Love Mike Hartner

Dear Reader…

As you embark on reading I, Angus, there are a few things that you should know.   
The first, and most important is that no matter how many similarities, I, Angus is markedly different that the first trilogy of books in The Eternity Series.

The Seafaring Crofter family of Books One, Two and Three are NOT related to Angus.   That alone is a difference.  He is a friend to Mary and Andrew, and this is evident if you’ve read I, Mary.   But, no, there is no familial connection... except as members of the North of Scotland, fighting valiantly against Mother Nature.

I, Angus is not a seafaring tale.  Nearly all of Angus’s life and adventures are on land. From his adventures in the British Isles to his adventures on the ‘continent,’ his youth and his life is spent on land.

I, Angus was also not intended as a historical Romance.  Angus’ trials lead him away from the romantic side of life, and into the hard scrabble of life as a mediator, confessor, friend and, in later years, minister. 

Remember that The Eternity Series is a re-telling of The Canterbury Tales. It is a set of stories in which all of the title characters have different arcs for their life, and different occupations.   Just as Chaucer in the early 1300s wrote of the butcher, baker and candlestick maker, of the knight-errant and the innkeeper and the mead maker, so too  have I written about the King and the banker and the female Captain and now… the minister.   And there will be more.
After hearing and writing Angus’ story, I’m convinced that his path in life was a smart one, and that no matter how hard he was beaten down by those events, he kept his resolve and his character.
Perhaps that is a lesson for all of us?

I like to say that these are the tales of people not in the history books.  For history is written from the perspective of the victors. And sailors, business people and priests have more humility than victors, and are often overlooked.

Each and every one of the people that read The Eternity Series are important to me.  And your voice, your opinion matters.  Please take the time to write a review or send me an email letting me know how you found the read.

About the Author

Mike Hartner was born in Miami in 1965. He’s traveled much of the continental United States. He has several years post secondary education, and experience teaching and tutoring young adults. Hartner has owned and run a computer firm for more than twenty-five years. He now lives in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, with his wife and child. They share the neighborhood and their son with his maternal grandparents.
Mike’s latest book is I, Angus (The Eternity Series Book 4).
For More Information
About the Book:

Title: I, Angus
Author: Mike Hartner
Publisher: Eternity 4 Popsicle Publishing
Pages: 260
Genre: Historical Fiction

During a time of civil strife and purging the North has lost more men to Wars then it ever did to Nature.

Angus has grown up learning that his life is better off with only him and a family. But is that really in the Grand Plan.

The North needs someone to build community.

But first, Angus needs to be forged... beaten, shaped, bolded and trained.

Watch as Angus hits both lows and highs across the lands of England, Scotland and France, before meeting a challenge of new land.


No comments:

Post a Comment